In Which My Body and I Take a Cruise

It’s been just over 2 weeks since I started my new diet (I’d meant to update after one week, my bad). So far I’m down 11 lbs!  🙂 In my announcement of my plans, I received 99% positive response from folks offering great support in this, but you can never please everyone, and I didn’t expect to, because I am not you, and you are not me. However, I am not going to further address the negativity in this post because I’d like to sustain a positive momentum in this challenge. I will simply say that I appreciate each and every one of you who responded with such support for me. Thank you. ♥ I encourage you all to find your own paths to health and happiness, and if my experience helps you get there, all the better! 🙂

I’ve moved beyond the ‘attack’ phase of my diet (no pun intended), and now expand all of my available foods to include vegetables. Yum. Details on this first phase are in my other diet post. This ‘cruise’ phase of my diet consists of alternating protein days and protein + veggie days, and will last until I reach my target weight. I’ll also be having 2 tbsp of Oat Bran each day (usually eaten in a yummy pancake, but there are other options), and walking a 1/2 hour (which I may or may not have been keeping up with regularly… ahem). The speed of weight loss has decreased now, as my body is reacting to what’s going on and due to the reintroduction of vegetables (all of this is explained in the Dukan Diet book) for a more balanced approach. I should still be on track to lose about 2 lbs a week, but it’s a bit weird to see a bit of a halt in progress since I was literally melting a lb a day in the first week! All good things must come to an end, or at least a transition period.

Over the past 2-ish weeks I have noticed a few things about my eating habits. I was eating CRAP before. No wonder I couldn’t lose any weight. I was kidding myself into thinking ‘lean pockets’, Special K, and cheese and crackers were healthy enough that I should have been losing weight. Read the labels people. SERIOUSLY read the labels of the foods you eat. Look at the fat content, carb content, sodium content… It’s all related to why, despite THINKING you’re eating healthy, you’re probably not really eating healthy (maybe ‘healthy’ yes, but for weight loss, no). Then, go buy some food without labels! 😉

That said, I’ve been eating a bigger variety of foods lately than I ever was before. I think this is partially because of the restrictions on the diet forcing me to seek out variety so I don’t get bored. I want to be sure that I can keep this going for the months and months that it will take me to reach my goal. I expect to be at this phase of the diet until Christmas. For realz. Thankfully my husband has been very supportive, and has been helping me to create some good dinners. I’m glad that I can have soup again. We attempted some chicken broth w/ chicken in it, and not much else, and it was not so pleasant. Now I can reintroduce my beloved miso soup w/ tofu, and tomato or squash soup, or other vegetable soups given that the carb content isn’t too high. I can also do some veggies and low fat/low carb dip, or salads (with a careful dressing choice), or low-fat veggie burgers and so on.

I also discovered that amongst the food we’d removed from the cupboard, another full bag was food that my husband wanted, so it wasn’t that bad! We’ve also struck a deal that for every 10 lbs I lose, I get a treat. LOL  Treat #1 was a lovely bouquet of flowers. hehehe…

I’m not going to pretend this was easy. It wasn’t. I miss baking. I miss cookies, and crackers, and chocolate, and pasta, and sandwiches and cereal. But, I know it’s worth it, and I know eventually I will be able to eat all of those things again. If I just focus on what I can’t eat, then I’m not going to get anywhere. This diet doesn’t expect anyone to live permanently on food sources that are insufficient for life-long living. The body wasn’t designed to be consistently losing weight, so of course what I am eating now will differ from what I eat the rest of my life. Grocery shopping is really difficult right now, as I become accustomed to finding foods that are appropriate, and avoiding ones that aren’t (the myth of sticking to the exterior parts of the store without going into the aisles is completely true, btw). I just tell myself that this is FOR the rest of my life, but not for the rest of my life. lol 😉

There are a lot of things I can and do eat, so I will happily share some recipes in the future, and keep you all updated.

11 and counting.

ii

3 responses to “In Which My Body and I Take a Cruise

  1. Way to go! Focus, focus, focus. I need to do something about my weight but can’t seem to get started. O, well. Good for you. Love you.

Leave a Reply

